Dorothy, we are still in Kansas

Saturday, August 20

596 miles

Today was a much better day than yesterday.  My eyes popped open at 5am and I was ready to go by 5:30.  I was thinking I would step out the door into a nice sunrise.  It was still pitch black.

leavin' the Regal Motel

The sun finally did manage to rise a couple hours later and I was able to fly along the backroads with absolutely NO traffic.  Sweet. I was hoping to find a McD’s for oatmeal and coffee, but there were none to be found.  When I got hungry enough I started to look for a little restaurant for breakfast.  I ended up at the Rockin’ A where a lot of trucks were parked (usually a good sign).  I don’t even remember the name of the town.  The breakfast was just about as memorable as the name. . .

Rockin' A (somewhere in Oklahoma or Kansas)

I traveled along the desolate highway for many, many miles with pretty much the same scenery.

I clocked in lots of Sirrius radio time today.  I listened to country, talk radio, and even tuned into the top 40 hits of today. (listened to the entire countdown!)

I made a brief tour of Newton, KS especially for you, Janet.

Emporia, KS was my intended stop for the night.  I had pre-booked at the Super 8 after reading absolutely glowing reports on TripAdvisor.  Yes, glowing reports of a SUPER 8.  When I checked in I found out they weren’t kidding. The manager was super friendly and even gave me a King room.  He called to make sure everything was ok after I got into my room.  The actualy room was as nice as any 3*** hotel I have been in.  All for $56 total!

great room at the Emporia Super 8
my "office"

Unfortunately, Emporia is filled with chain restaurants.  No matter.  I ended up at Applebees and enjoyed my dinner.  Time for bed so I can get up and do it again tomorrow.

The plan is to drive to Columbia, M O to try and re-visit the Mississippi Fish Shack (Good Hot Fish) where Rich and I had the best fried chicken EVER last summer.  Take a look at our previous visit here. All I want is a leg and a thigh and I will be in heaven.  I also must save my appetite for brisket on the grill tomorrow night in Evansville.  Can’t wait!

3 thoughts on “Dorothy, we are still in Kansas

Leave a Reply

