Ba Haba

Tuesday, August 30, 2011

Miles: 257

Nice night at the Toubat’s Creek Inn in Kennebunkport.  Very, very quiet and friendly innkeepers.  Always nice to find a place like that.

Golf was on my agenda this morning.  I had already picked out a course  that was about 20 minutes away.  Breakfast at the inn and then I took off.  It was even a little chilly in the morning and I actually had to wear a jacket.  I arrived at Old Marsh Golf Club in Wells, Maine and was welcomed by the pro shop nicely.  They sent me off as a single and I was rarin’ to go.  The course was gorgeous; surrounded by large pine trees (Maine is the “Pine Tree” state) and “marshy” land.  I loved it.  I played a very relaxing round and happily scored an 88.

Hard to capture the beauty on camera
WHERE is the green??

The day turned out to be lovely with temps around 70-75.  Perfect golf weather.  I can’t help but think of my friends in AZ who are still struggling with temps in the 110’s.

I was hungry after golf and decided I would stop somewhere on the road to Bar Harbor.  I hadn’t even gone 5 miles when I saw this sign:

The car just kind of turned itself right on in.  I had a hankerin’ for clam strips.  I know, I know – they are fried and all, but hey – I am in Maine for heaven’s sake.

(don't worry, I didn't eat the fries!)

Wow.  The clams were fantastic.  They only way they could have been any better would be if there was a Frosty Fishbowl to go with them.  But alas, I was driving so I settled on an iced tea.  Ok, now I can really hit the road and get to Bar Harbor or as the locals call it “Ba Haba” (say it, you will understand)

The drive was very nice and went through several picturesque small towns in Maine.  I immediately decided that KT and Don would love traveling through these towns.

I had selected accommodations just outside of BH in the neighboring town of Trenton.  I booked the Open Hearth Inn after seeing it online and reading reviews.  There are a series of little cabins that are really cute.  The owners are very nice and we talked a bit about Rich’s trip and which road he might be coming in on.  They told me they get touring cyclists quite often.

Home, Sweet Home

I will be staying here tonight and tomorrow by myself and then Rich will join me on Thursday and Jack will have his own little cabin. I think the boys will like their  accommodations (has to be better than sleeping in a tent. . .)

I tried to make it into “town” before dark, but just barely made it into Bar Harbor.  The main street is bustling with people, shops, restaurants, etc.  Very cute.  I look forward to exploring it more tomorrow during the day.  Acadia National Park is also right here and I may venture into there a bit.  Who knows.

Dinner tonight was just a simple pizza at a local pub on the main drag.  Nothing to write home about, but just right for tonight.  It has been a good travel day and I am looking forward to being settled in here for a couple of days.

Frenchman's Bay at Bar Harbor

3 thoughts on “Ba Haba

  1. Hey,it looks kind of like the bunny hut that Don and I stayed in but I think I would like your place a little more! It is not in the 110’s it is like in the 113’s, 116’s…hottest August on record…we are done with this heat…I’m so sorry you were chilly! Have fun, miss ya!

  2. Hey Linda,

    I love the little house. It looks like a doll house. Take some pics of the inside…I would love to see them.

    Looking forward to more Ba Haba pics …and can’t wait for the worlds to collide. Missing you….T

Leave a comment