Golf Among the Live Oaks

Friday, September 7, 2012

When I was planning this golf holiday one of my goals was to mix up the type of accommodations in which we would stay.  Our current digs (Ellington Resort at Wachesaw East) are in the mid-range/condo-type of set up.  This place was chosen for Rich (ha!)  I know that he prefers to relax in a living room with a tv and also likes to prepare meals at “home.”  I actually really like it, too but I need the occasional splurge (which we will do a couple of times along the way…) Anyway, to try and make Rich very, very happy I even serve him “room service” in the morning.

Does it get any better than this?
Our kitchen
Living Room

We are glad to have our usual breakfast – oatmeal for me/Cheerios for Rich – while checking our email.  Then it is time to head out for our first golf outing in South Carolina. There are literally hundreds of golf courses in this Grand Strand area and I have studied many of them.  I have chosen 3 that are close by.  Today we are playing Caledonia Golf and Fish Club.  It has been regularly reviewed as one of the prettiest courses in the USA.  I am very excited to give it a whirl.

The drive up to the clubhouse is stunning.

We are definitely in for a treat.  I have the full realization that we are in the South when everyone from the bag boys to the folks in the pro shop address me as “ma’am.”  I love it.  It is warm and muggy today and the mosquitos are out in full force.  Fortunately we have our bug spray and unlike the other two in our foursome we are well protected.

When we get up to the first tee box and I see what they use for tee markers, I know we are going to have a great day.

See the cute Duck tee markers?

We end up being paired up with two really fun guys – Frank and Bryan.  They are hackers like us and we all get along great.  This course is exceptionally beautiful.  There are tons of flowers at every tee box and every green.  Fairways are manicured and the huge live oak trees lining the fairways are dripping with Spanish Moss.  It makes me think that this is what Augusta probably looks like.

Hard to concentrate with scenery like this
Did I land on the green?

Rich had a fantastic round – he played GREAT!  Me?  Not so hot.  Too much rough, too little club.  Oh well, I need to get used to these muggy conditions.  Would we play this course again?  In a heartbeat!

After our round we retired to the clubhouse for lunch and ended up sitting on the verandah.  It is lined with rocking chairs that overlook the 18th green. We had been told that it can get pretty rowdy out there when the place is crowded with people betting on the golfers coming into the 18th!  Glad nobody was watching when we came in…

Lunch was awesome.  I had a crab cake plate and Rich had the biggest and best Cobb Salad I have ever seen.  We sat on the porch for quite a while just eating, relaxing and watching the golfers.

Perfect way to spend the afternoon

Since we are having such a late lunch we already know that we are going to want a light dinner.  We look on the phone for a seafood market and finally tear ourselves away from the porch.

Our car likes it here, too

Harrelson’s Seafood Market is just down the road in Murrell’s Inlet. It gets fantastic reviews on Yelp and we are planning on getting some shrimp for tonight.  All of the fish in the market look wonderful and they have tons of fresh shrimp.  We get a pound of the big ones.  A stop at Food Lion for a lemon, butter and some broccoli and we are all set.

After relaxing for a bit back at the condo I start in on dinner prep.  I sauteed the shrimp simply with butter and garlic and then finished with lemon.  We served them with some steamed broccoli and were two happy campers!  The shrimp were some of the best I have ever had – super fresh and sweet.

Working hard in the kitchen
One happy guy!
5 thoughts on “Golf Among the Live Oaks

  1. Wow, two birdies Linda! How did you hit the ball after those two drinks?? Great looking shrimp dinner, Linda!! What did Rich cook? Love the Carolina’s!!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

