Reuinited (And it Feels so Good)

18 09 2013

Wednesday, September 18, 2013

188 Miles

IMG_8987

Another beautiful morning in Naples.  I am up early, finish a punishing workout sent by Levi (thanks) and head on down for  breakfast at Lemonia.  I have a 9:00 tee time on Tiburon Gold this morning and am going to try and see if I can get out early to beat the rain and also to get on the road.  I will be traveling to the East Coast this afternoon to meet Rich and Jack in Jensen Beach.

I have the same exact breakfast as yesterday – yogurt parfait and two poached eggs with salmon and tomatoes. Everything is excellent and I know I am going to miss this.

When I get to the pro shop I find out that there is a large group out in front of me and that the entire course is cart path only due to the course being super soggy from all the rain.  Great.

IMG_8991

I get paired up with Pascal, a nice fellow and good golfer from Wisconsin.  Since we are only a two some, we are going to have to be very patient.  When we catch up with the group in front of us right after the first hole, we are informed that the average age of all the guys in the two groups directly ahead of us is over 75.  And it is cart path only… The pace is glacial.  A snoozefest.  However, we chat in between shots and holes and have a great time together.

IMG_8993

Too much bling?  This is the GOLD course after all!

Too much bling? This is the GOLD course after all!

I finish with a good round and would definitely return to the Ritz Carlton Golf Resort in Naples!

IMG_8994

Thankfully, I don’t have to check out until 4pm so I have time for a shower before heading off to meet Rich.  I make my final packing up and am ready to go.

Look how great this bag (made by my Dad) fits on my roller bag!

Look how great this bag (made by my Dad) fits on my roller bag!

IMG_8990

As usual, it begins to downpour as soon as I leave the resort. The three hour drive is peppered with several such bouts. I finally reach Hutchinson Island and the city of Jensen Beach where the boys are waiting at Vistana’s Beach Club.

IMG_8996

It is great to see Jack and Rich.  They look happy and well-rested.  I think they are glad to be off the bike for a couple of days.  Our condo at Vistana’s is very nice with 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms and a killer ocean view.

Nice kitchen (which I don't plan on using)

Nice kitchen (which I don’t plan on using)

Living area

Living area

our view

our view

And this bad boy which is probably the most important item in the condo. (remember Rich and Jack have been riding and camping for almost a week now)

IMG_9018

For dinner there is one requirement – find a place on the water.  We consult Yelp and Shuckers Restaurant seems to fit the bill.  It is only a few miles up the road and is directly on the ocean. Perfect choice for tonight.

IMG_8998

The Three Amigos

The Three Amigos

I order grilled grouper, Rich opts for the Mixed Seafood Pasta and vegetarian Jack orders the Pasta Primavera.  I also order six of these beauties to start:

IMG_9001

Dinner is great and we love sitting out with the sound of the crashing waves and the nice breeze.  Tonight we are also treated to a spectacular harvest moon.

IMG_9002

IMG_9004

We get to spend tomorrow together as well.  The plan is to golf in the morning and chill in the afternoon.  I think we can handle it.

Actions

Information

3 responses

20 09 2013
Janet

Is there such a thing as too much bling?

Love the bag Dad made!

Enjoy your time together before the boys ride off again!

20 09 2013
Anonymous

Glad you’re all three together. Nice bag.

21 09 2014
More Rainy Golf | The Right Road

[…] Last year when I was here I only played the Gold Course because the Black Course was closed.  This year it is just the opposite.  Already it appears as if the Black is more “out of the way” and winding through the marshes.  I remember that on the Gold you can see the Ritz from a lot of the holes. […]

Leave a Reply

