Arrival at Canyon Ranch (or How to Wear Yourself Out in 5 Short Days)

Friday, Sept 20, 2013

140 miles

Good morning from Jensen Beach
Good morning from Jensen Beach

The sun comes up at Jensen Beach and we arise with it.  Today is a travel day for all of us.  They guys are going to get back on the bikes after a much needed rest and I am going to drive to my next destination – Canyon Ranch in Miami Beach.

Stuffin' it all in again
Stuffin’ it all in again
Rich and Jack are itchin' to ride.
Rich and Jack are itchin’ to ride.
Heading out of the parking lot. Better hope the wind is at their backs (look at the flag in the background)
Heading out of the parking lot. Better hope the wind is at their backs (look at the flag in the background)
Off they go (with the wind at their backs!)
Off they go (with the wind at their backs!)

I jump in the car and prepare for the short 2 hour drive to Miami.  I am going to be staying for 4 nights at Canyon Ranch Resort and Spa and have been looking forward to it for a long time.

.in Miami
I can tell I have arrived in Miami

The drive takes me directly down Collins Ave – the way to South Beach.  The Art Deco architecture is typical Miami – way cool.  Canyon Ranch is easy to find – it is directly on the ocean and is a beautiful high rise building. I pull up, the valet takes the car and I don’t plan on seeing it again until I leave.

IMG_9058

Canyon Ranch is a wellness/fitness/health mecca.  (there is also one in Tucson) There are over 300 fitness/wellness classes per week along with a world class spa and a premium beachfront location.  What’s not too love?  Once again, thanks to Amex I am upgraded to an Oceanview Suite that is truly sweet.

Full kitchen (why?)
Full kitchen (why?)
Beautiful loving room with ocean view
Beautiful loving room with ocean view
Ocean view bedroom
Ocean view bedroom

The bathroom is so large that I almost get lost.  It is all decked out on “spa” fashion with a deep soaking tub, fancy shower, dressing table and gorgeous fixtures.  I am in love. My television is already on and playing Canyon Ranch news with schedules and description of all there is to offer.  It is also personalized…

I have no doubt that I am going to love it here.  I quicky peruse today’s schedule and settle on Gyrokenisis for my first class. Here is the description:

Gyrokinesis- Release neck & shoulder tension, open joints and improve posture.
I figure it will be a good way to ease into this thing and I was correct.  The class was fantastic and I am ready for more.  A visit to the juice bar is necessary before going any further.
Juice bar in fitness area
Juice bar in fitness area
Power Smoothie all the way!
Power Smoothie all the way!

Now I am  ready for 20-10 Fierce:

20-10 Fierce! Join us for a fast and furious interval workout using 20 seconds of work followed by 10 seconds of rest in rounds. Push your limits in this Tabata inspired class.  Intermediate/Advanced
I will admit that I was pretty intimidated by the description, but I figured why not at least try it.  I can always bail in the middle if I can’t take it.  This class is held in an indoor/outdoor studio right by the pool and oceanfront.  Very cool. When I show up and there is only one other participant in the class AND she is 20-something years old I almost back out, but I bit my lip and sucked it up.  The instructor (drill sergeant) was great.  The pace was fast and furious and I made it all the way!  Yay me.
Some time was taken to relax in the shade by the pool, read and soak up the surroundings. It is actually very relaxed here for being a “luxury” resort.  All the employees I have encountered have been very friendly and I already feel comfortable wandering around here.
One of the FOUR pools
One of the FOUR pools
A portion of the weight room overlooking the ocean
A portion of the bicycle room overlooking the ocean (I won’t be coming here…)

My final class of the day will be Restorative Yoga.  It is exactly what it sounds like.  The instructor is great and tells us that the class is basically a “nap with props.”  Loved it.

I don’t know where the day went.  I have been on the go since I got here – I just don’t want to miss anything.  Too tired to even go down for dinner tonight – room service is ordered and Shark Tank is on television.  Does it get any better?

Caesar salad and Mediterranean flatbread
Caesar salad and Mediterranean flatbread
5 thoughts on “Arrival at Canyon Ranch (or How to Wear Yourself Out in 5 Short Days)

Leave a Reply

