All Things Must End

25 09 2014

Thursday, September 25, 2014

Zero Miles

Last full day at Canyon Ranch.  I want to make the most of it. I would really love to take at least one TRX class while I am here.  There is one at 11:00 so I am going to see if the weather holds out.  It is not looking too good right now as I am heading down to my first class in the Ocean Studio.

 

"iffy" weather

“iffy” weather

I made myself get up for the 8:00 20-10 Fierce class this morning.  I took it twice last year and it kicked my a$$ both times!  So, why not try it again? (20-10 Fierce!-Join us for a fast and furious interval workout using 20 seconds of work followed by 10 seconds of rest. Push your limits in this Tabata inspired class!)

Ocean Studio

Ocean Studio

If is most definitely FIERCE.  However, I somehow manage to survive and feel pretty darn proud of myself when it is over. I had previously mapped out to make a beeline to Rhythmic Stretch afterwards. When I arrive I see one of my favorite instructors from last year (Carl).  It is a good sign when the instructors stay from year to year.  The stretching is great and very much needed.

Because Carl is teaching the very next class in this studio, (and because the next class is only 20 minutes in length) I decide to stay for Upper Body Blast (Upper Body Blast (20 Min):Everything Upper Body. Tone, sculpt, and strengthen the arms, chest, and back using avariety of equipment, and/or bodyweight exercises.) Turns out to be a killer 20 minutes.  When class if over I am definitely ready for breakfast.

Creature of habit that I am, I end up with basically the same breakfast – oatmeal with various fruits and nuts, a home made chicken sausage patty (delicious) and a smoked salmon/tomato sandwich stuffed into my bag to save for lunch.

IMG_5203

While I am eating breakfast it is reasonably sunny outside.

IMG_5204

During breakfast I consider whether I want to try the TRX class today.  I already have had a pretty “fierce” workout so I decide to skip it and do the two pool classes that I really enjoy.  They are like work, but they feel good.

The Aqua Strength class today is taught by my very favorate instructor – Walid.  The same ladies from yesterday are here today.  As we enter the pool, there are some dark clouds that start to come nearer.  Walid tells us to let him know if we see lightning over his shoulder.  Are you kidding?  As class progresses, it gets darker and darker but we all refuse to get out.  There has been no lightning.  Soon it begins to rain.  Walid is outside the pool in his gym clothes now getting soaking wet.  We don’t care – we are in the pool! Finally it really starts to pour and get very black out so we end the class prematurely.  As soon as we finish it starts to come down in buckets followed by massive thunder!

Poor Walid!

Poor Walid!

This should be a good time to enjoy some more of the Aquavana experiences.  I make my way through the Foot Spa (Relax completely while bathing the feet in cool or warm (never hot) water. Equalize body temperature by bathing the feet in warm water; directly after a thermal cabin you can use cool water.)

Foot Spa

Foot Spa

Then comes the Finnish Sauna (A classic Finnish sauna lined with fragrant woods. Dry heat from a traditional stove with heated stones purifies the body as it relaxes mind and body.)IMG_5208

That is followed by a trip back to the Igloo and the Experiential Shower for a blast of Atlantic Storm.

IMG_5207

A little relaxation and my beloved salmon sandwich are waiting for me back in my room.

Yicky weather

Yicky weather

I am torn whether to gear myself up for one more class today.  Let’s see:  Nap or class?  Hmm.  The Let’s Dance class won the argument. (Lets Dance (Limit 40)-A different dance form each day emphasizing fun, rhythmic movement.) Sounds tame enough. When I approach the Ocean Studio and see that Paul is teaching (the instructor from the Barre class) I am happy I made this choice.  It is a lot of fun and Paul has endless energy.  We “dance” and sweat our way through the 45 minutes.  I am definitely not a dancer, but Paul is a great instructor and I can follow him enough to hang in there.

Now that I am sufficiently worn out it is time to head back to the spa for my final treatment of this trip – the Ayurvedic Herbal Rejuvenation with accompanying Shirodhara. Sounds interesting, right?

Ayurvedic Herbal Rejuvenation – Get the glow of health. This relaxing, healing treatment begins with an application of a warm, exfoliating body mask, followed by a full-body massage with warm, herb-infused oils selected for your constitution. The powerful combination of herbs and oils cleanses, detoxifies and nourishes skin. This treatment also soothes the immune system and eases stress.
Shirodhara –A classic ayurvedic herbal hair and scalp treatment designed to induce a meditative state. The therapist directs a warm, gentle stream of oil onto the forehead, restoring calm to the mind while soothing the senses. The oil nourishes the hair and scalp.

My therapist (Richard) greets me and explains the basics of Ayurveda. Ayurveda (eye-yur-VAY-duh), derived from the Sanskrit words for “life” and “knowledge” is the traditional healing system of India – one of the world’s oldest. The holistic practices of ayurveda, which encompass diet, yoga and body treatments, are rooted in the idea that body, mind and spirit must be balanced if the individual is to achieve longevity and the highest degree of health. Your therapist will determine your dosha (mental and physical constitution) and recommend treatments and products to restore balance.

He asks me to test three different scents so that he can see which of my “dosha” are out of balance.  Personally I think all my dosha (doshi?) are out of whack.  Anyway, he figures something out and begins the 120 minutes of pure bliss.  I actually had this treatment last year and it was my favorite.  If possible, Richard is even better than my original therapist.  The Shirodhara portion puts me into a true meditative state.  You can just imagine having warm oil slowly dripped on your forehead, can’t you? Sounds messy?  It is.  You are supposed to leave the oil on your hair overnight, but I can’t handle that one.  I already know from last year that it will take several shampoos to get it all out, but it is completely worth it.  This was a great way to end my last full day here.

Now that I am both relaxed and energized I go down to the lounge to blog a bit and have a much earned cocktail.

The Perfect Ten (Vanilla vodka, pineapple juice, prosecco) Yum!

The Perfect Ten (Vanilla vodka, pineapple juice, prosecco) Yum!

Dinner will be in the Grille and I choose to sit at the counter again.  I have been eyeing the “Miami Spice” menuu since I got here.  During the month of September, many restaurants here concoct a special 4 course menu to showcase their talents and offer it at a special price.  Tonight I am going to indulge.

IMG_5217

IMG_5218The Tuna is a great starter:

IMG_5219

Followed by the Asparagus Salad with Quail Egg (my favorite dish of the night).

IMG_5223

I chose the Spinach Gnocci for my entree, but honestly by the time it arrived I was pretty much full.  I ordered the Flan for dessert and asked to have it “To Go.”

No one else at the counter

No one else at the counter

Yes.  The hair is bad - but remember I had a head full of oil just a couple hours earlier!

Yes. The hair is bad – but remember I had a head full of oil just a couple hours earlier!

This has been another great day at CR.  I am sorry that I have to leave tomorrow, but 4 nights really is a good amount of time to be here.  Any longer than that and I probably wouldn’t be able to get out of bed.  I hope to take a couple of classes in the morning before getting in the car to start the long drive to Indiana.

 

 

 

 

Actions

Information

2 responses

26 09 2014
Janet

The treatments sound absolutely primo. But I really don’t understand why you torture yourself in between times!!! The asparagus salad looked especially yummy. Sorry you have to leave.

26 03 2016
Rich

Well, it’s 2016 and I’m just now reading all your adventures at Canyon Ranch. Remember, I was riding my bicycle during all this, and so wasn’t following along. Despite the weather, this day sounds divine.

Leave a Reply

