Long Course, Short Drive

Monday, August 7, 2017

7 miles to Shadow Mountain Golf course

15 miles to Kimberley

Time to leave St. Eugene.  It has been a great stay.  I pack up, swing by check-out and take the short 10 minute drive to Shadow Mountain Golf Course (also in Cranbrook).  Immediately upon the mountainous, curvy road into the course I realize this will be a different situation than yesterday.  I won’t be walking this one.

First things, first.  I arrived plenty early so that I could enjoy breakfast at the clubhouse.

IMG_3750

Today I am paired up with another husband and wife duo.  I will have no problem remembering her name – Linda!  Shadow Mountain is a gorgeous track up in the mountains.

IMG_3751

Linda and Mel were really fun to play with and I was quite relaxed and playing well again.  (Lookout, Rich)

IMG_3755

IMG_3756

After the round I move on up the road about 20 miles only to Kimberley where I will spend 3 nights at the Trickle Creek Lodge.  First, I stop at the grocery and pick up a few provisions for dinner in tonight – rotisserie chicken, hummus, cucumber and carrots for dipping.  Oh, and a bottle of white wine for balcony sitting.

Trickle Creek is really a ski lodge, but does have its share of tourists in the summer. Looks great from the drive in:

IMG_3757

My room is a fantastic King Suite complete with sitting area and full kitchen!

IMG_3761
Does it look like I am moving in for good?

I get busy unpacking and putting away my groceries.  Then I absolutely must take on a task that has been looking – laundry!  Fortunately, there are machines on each floor.  I make use of two of them and then retire to my balcony.

IMG_3762
Yep.  THIS is therapy!

Laundry finally finished.  Chicken waiting for me.  I enjoy my live in dinner along with some tv (Rich – I know you are proud…).

Early to bed tonight – I am playing 36 holes tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

