Last Day in Kimberley

Wednesday, August 9, 2017

Miles – about 12

Another golf day in Kimberley – ho hum.  Late tee time and probably no walking this course, so I hit up the gym at Trickle Creek.  Feels pretty good.

IMG_3931

Breakfast (oatmeal) and coffee in my room then a short drive to Kimberley Golf Club.  This course is unique in that the front nine was built in 1924 for miners in the area.  The back was completed in 1983.  I am given a very warm welcome from the pro shop and paired up with yet another married couple (so unusual – in AZ I am always paired up with 3 men…) Cheryl and Jim.  They are from a place about 3 hour east of here (forgot the name).

The pro shop told me that the back nine (on which we are starting) is really not walk-able, but I can trade for a walking cart for the front if I want to.  The advice is more than correct – the back nine is super-duper hilly.  Way too much to walk even for me!

Right away on our first hole I get really excited to see deer crossing the fairway!

IMG_3932

IMG_3936

This is another beautiful course, and the smoky haze does not do it justice. I am kind of getting used to it.

IMG_3937

I did indeed drop off my electric cart and walk the back (front) nine.  It was fantastic!  At one point as I was leaving a green and rounding the corner I came smack in front of a mama deer and two fawns:

IMG_3941
Mama is keeping a careful eye out for her little ones (behind her just off the path)

Kimberley Golf Club was certainly one of the most beautiful in the area and I am so happy that I played it.  Their patio is wonderful as well and I sat and had a beer (Fernie Lone Wolf IPA) and a Ginger Beef Salad.  Perfect.

IMG_3942

Back to the room for a little rest and some packing up – tomorrow is driving day.

Since I have not yet gone out for a meal in Kimberley I decided that tonight would be the night.  I end up at the Platzl which is their pedestrian-only street that is lined with shops and restaurants.  It is very cute and great for people watching.

IMG_3944

Tonight I end up at the Pedal and Tap Restaurant.  It has a great outside seating area right on the walkway and I choose to wait for a table there.

IMG_3947

IMG_3949

When I studied the menu I noticed an item that I keep seeing – Mucky Fries.  What the heck?  The Pedal and Tap menu offers an explanation:

Mucky Fries Breakdown

muck·y[muhk-ee]

adjective, muck·i·er, muck·i·est.
1.
of or like muck.
2.
filthy, dirty, or slimy.

fries[frahyz]

noun 
1.
plural of fry
2.
Informal. Fried potatoes.

muck·y fries

noun
1.
 French Fries covered in mozzaralla, cheddar, maple bacon, green onion and housemade chipotle mayo. Pedal & Tap will muck up your fries.

Did I go for the Muckies?  Nope – just can’t do it. Dinner for me tonight is a BC Poke Bowl – A Hawaiian style poke with soy marinated salmon, sticky rice, cucumber, cabbage, seaweed and crunchy wonton chips.  A glass of BC Wild Goose Riesling completes the meal.  As good as Mucky Fries?  Probably not, but still pretty darn good!

IMG_3948

It has been a great 3 day stay in Kimberley and was nice not to be on the move every day.  Tomorrow is a driving only day – about 6 hours to Oliver (west of here).  I am crossing my fingers that I will be moving away from the smoke!

Leave a Reply

